MONROEVILLE LOCAL SCHOOLS OFFICIAL RECORD OF PROCEEDINGS January 6, 2025 Regular Meeting

The Board of Education, Monroeville Local School District, Huron County, Ohio, met on this date in the Monroeville Athletic Community (MAC) Meeting Room. The regular meeting called to order by President, Betsy Ruggles, Kristin Kaple-Jones, Superintendent and Paul DeMarco.

- I. CALL TO ORDER (Time: 7:14 p.m.)
- II. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE
 - III. MISSION STATEMENT: The vision of the Monroeville Local School Board is Excellence in Education for all students. Our district assures each student a well-rounded educational program leading to rewarding careers. In addition, our district will foster students who are critical thinkers, creative problem solvers and socially responsible individuals. Through the collaboration of school, home and community, every Monroeville graduate will be well prepared for the global challenges of the 21st century.
 - IV. ROLL CALL

Allen: present Bemis: present Helmstetter: present Ruggles: present Smith: present

2025-08

V. APPROVE AGENDA: (Lilly Gregory, Track Coach) was corrected to Step 9. Sonia Barker was added as a high dosage tutor for this year.

M: Allen 2nd: Ruggles

Allen: aye Bemis: aye Helmstetter: aye Ruggles: aye Smith: aye

VI. HEARING OF THE PUBLIC (Bylaw 0169.1) Public meeting notices are posted in the Central Office. If you are interested in being added to the Board's agenda under Public Participation, requests are to be made in the Central Office ***There shall be no negative public commentary directed at employees, Board members, students or members of the public in accordance with Board policy. Such comments will only be heard in Executive Session, if appropriate, and determined by the Board President or presiding officer of the Board pursuant with Ohio Revised Code Section 121.22(G)(1)***

• Recognition of Board of Education

2025-09

VII. APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

Approve the regular meeting minutes of December 16, 2024

M: Allen 2nd: Bemis

Allen: aye Bemis: aye Helmstetter: aye Ruggles: aye Smith: aye

VIII. OLD BUSINESS: None

IX. NEW BUSINESS: None

TREASURER'S REPORT:

2025-10

A. Approve the financial statements for December 2024 *The Cash Reconciliation Statement was not available at the time of the meeting. This will be added to next month's meeting.

M: Allen 2nd: Smith

Allen: aye Bemis: aye Helmstetter: aye Ruggles: aye Smith: aye

2025-11

B. Approve the Then & Now PO #242953 for Clark, Schaefer, Hackett & Co - \$10,000.00

M: Helmstetter 2nd: Bemis

Allen: aye Bemis: aye Helmstetter: aye Ruggles: aye Smith: aye

2025-12

C. Approve the FY25 Federal Grants:

| • Title I: | \$72,634.67 |
|------------|-------------|
|------------|-------------|

- Title II: \$16,055.42
- Title IV: \$10,000
- Title V-B (REAP): \$45,881
- IDEA-B: \$148,294.88

| | Total: \$292,866 |
|---------|--|
| | M: Allen 2 nd : Bemis |
| | Allen: aye Bemis: aye Helmstetter: aye Ruggles: aye Smith: aye |
| | SUPERINTENDENT'S REPORT |
| | A. BUSINESS: |
| 2025 12 | |
| 2025-13 | 1. Approve the participation in OSBA Legal Assistance Fund for the 2025 calendar year |
| | 2. Approve the annual membership to OSBA for the year 2025 |
| | 3. Approve the membership to Ohio Education Policy Institute for the year 2025 |
| | M: Ruggles 2 nd : Smith |
| | Allen: aye Bemis: aye Helmstetter: aye Ruggles: aye Smith: aye |
| 2025-14 | B. EMPLOYMENT: |
| 1. | Approve the payment to be made for the amount owed to the following for the 2023-2024 school year under the minimum salary requirements of R.C. 3317.13(C): Tylor Nester - \$2,417 Laurie Replogle - \$0 |
| | M: Helmstetter 2 nd : Bemis |
| 2025-15 | Allen: aye Bemis: aye Helmstetter: aye Ruggles: aye Smith: aye |
| 2. | Approve the following Spring Sports Supplementals for the 2024-2025 School year: |
| | Chris McDonald, Track – Head Coach, Step 11 Brad Dunlap, Track – Assistant Coach, Step 4 Lillian Gregory, Track – Assistant Coach, Step 9 Alex Rogers, Track – Junior High Coach, Step 1 Joffarson Fair, Track – Junior High Coach, Step 1 |

• Jefferson Fair, Track – Junior High Coach, Step 1

Page 4 of 5

- Don Clark, Baseball Head Coach, Step 2
- Tyler Wasserman, Baseball Assistant Coach, Step 2
- Abe Helmstetter, Softball Head Coach, Step 14
- Tracy Rosser, Softball Assistant Coach, Step 5

M: Allen 2nd: Bemis

Allen: aye Bemis: aye Helmstetter: abstain: aye Ruggles: aye Smith: aye

2025-16

- 3. Approve to the following for high dosage tutors for the 2024 -2025 school year:
 - Kendra Hartman
 - Tracy Weis
 - Bailey Bollenbacher
 - Sonia Barker

M: Allen 2nd: Bemis

Allen: aye Bemis: aye Helmstetter: aye Ruggles: aye Smith: aye

2025-17

D. DONATIONS:

- 1. Accept the following donations for the Giving Tree:
 - \$1,000 from Christopher Carroll
 - \$750 (2) in Walmart gift cards from Janotta & Herner
 - \$100 from Larry Allen
 - Gift Card donation for Target & Old Navy from the Schafer Family

2025-18

2. Accept the \$190 donation from Firelands Federal Credit Union to be used for a student's fees for the senior class trip.

M: Bemis 2nd: Smith

Allen: aye Bemis: aye Helmstetter: aye Ruggles: aye Smith: aye

X. DISCUSSION:

Next Work Session---January 28, 2025 6:00 Next Board meeting—February 10, 2025 at 6:30 pm

XI. EXECUTIVE SESSION:

Section 121.22 of the Ohio Revised Code permits discussion in executive session for the following specified purposes: The

| Page 5 of 5 |
|--|
| appointment, employment, dismissal, discipline, promotion, demotion, or compensation of public employees or regulated individuals or the investigation of charges or complaints against a public employee or regulated individual unless such person requests a public hearing. 2025-19 |
| TIME IN: 7:53 p.m. |
| Moved by Bemis Seconded by: Allen M: Smith 2 nd : Bemis |
| Allen: aye Bemis: aye Helmstetter: aye Ruggles: aye Smith: aye |
| 2025-20 |
| TIME OUT: 10:46 p.m. |
| M: Smith 2 nd : Bemis |
| Allen: aye Bemis: aye Helmstetter: aye Ruggles: aye Smith: aye 2025-21 |
| XII. ADJOURNMENT: 10:47 Time: p.m. |
| M: Ruggles 2 nd : Allen |
| Allen: aye Bemis: aye Helmstetter: aye Ruggles: aye Smith: aye |
| Attest: |
| Board President: |
| |
| Treasurer: |